Skip to main content

Arts Council Announces 2015 Media Arts Fellowship Finalists

in Press Releases October 26, 2015 2 min read

Columbus, Ohio—The Greater Columbus Arts Council (Arts Council) and the Columbus Film Council (CFC) are pleased to announce the 2015 Media Arts Fellowship Finalists. The recipients and their award levels will be announced Nov. 14 during an awards ceremony hosted by the Columbus International Film + Video Festival in the Canzani Center at Columbus College of Art & Design. Three awards are available; one for $3,500 and two for $1,500.

The following 2015 Media Arts Fellowship finalists were chosen from 29 applicants. Selections were based on the artistic merit of the work submitted.

The 2015 Media Arts Fellowship finalists are: Roger Beebe, Phil Garrett, Jonathan Johnson, Christina Paolucci and Scott Spears (collaborative team), Janet Parrott, Alexa Sison, Christopher Stone, and Heather Taylor.

The Arts Council’s fellowship program, established in 1986, recognizes outstanding Franklin County artists. Since the inception of the program, more than 240 artists have received awards in a variety of disciplines, including visual arts, crafts, film and video, creative writing, music composition and choreography/movement arts. The Arts Council’s program is one of the few local fellowship programs in the country.

The awards, recommended in an anonymous review process by panelists, assist recipients in any manner they choose to support the creation of new works and/or the advancement of their careers. All 2015 recipients and finalists will be invited to apply for the Arts Council’s Artist Exchange Program. Artists who have participated previously in any Arts Council exchange program are not eligible to apply.

Members of the 2015 Media Arts Fellowship panel who reviewed all applications and recommended the finalists and recipients were Shelly Hulce, an independent Film Commissioner, certified by AFCI (Association of Film Commissioners International); Katherine Steele, Executive Director of the Cincinnati Film Festival; and John Vourlis, Adjunct Instructor in Film and Digital Media at Cleveland State University. A visiting international filmmaker participating in CIF + VF will make the final award decisions.

For more information contact Ruby Harper, Grants & Services Director at

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, the Arts Council funds exemplary artists and arts organizations and provides programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. The Arts Council thanks the City of Columbus and the Ohio Arts Council for their continued support.

About the Columbus Film Council: The Columbus Film Council was founded in 1950, by the late Dr. Edgar Dale, Professor Emeritus of The Ohio State University and other professionals interested in promoting the use of 16mm motion pictures. Two years later, the Columbus Film Festival was born. Since its inception, the object of the Film Council has been to encourage and promote the use of 16mm motion pictures and, subsequently, media in all forms of education and communication, not only in the local community but throughout the world. During these many years of continuous operation, the Festival has honored thousands of film and video producers. The Festival has grown in scope, becoming international in 1972, in the late 80′s adding video, and in 1997 adding the CD ROM format. In 2004 the Festival added DVDs to its list of accepted formats.

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492