Skip to main content

Greater Columbus Arts Council Announces 2017 Community Arts Partnership Individual Award Winners and Business Award Nominees

in Press Releases September 18, 2017 4 min read

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Greater Columbus Arts Council (Arts Council) is pleased to announce the three individual winners of the 2017 Community Arts Partnership (CAP) awards presented by PNC in the categories of Arts Educator, Arts Partner and Emerging Arts Leader. The winners will be honored at the Arts Council’s annual Community Arts Partnership awards luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:15 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 26 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center’s Short North Ballroom.

The Arts Council’s annual CAP awards honor Columbus individuals for their exemplary support and leadership in the arts and the Columbus business community for its active support of central Ohio’s arts organizations. Thirty businesses and individuals were nominated this year. Business honorees will be announced at the event on Oct. 26.

Individual winners will each receive a sculptural mixed-media piece created by Columbus artist Char Norman. The business winners will each receive a work of art purchased from local artists William Ortman, April Sunami and Barbara Vogel.

The individual award winners are listed below. The Arts Educator Award is presented in partnership with the Ohio Alliance for Arts Education.

ARTS EDUCATOR — Peter Stafford Wilson
Peter Stafford Wilson is associate conductor with the Columbus Symphony. He leads the Columbus Symphony Youth Orchestra and the Columbus All City Orchestra for Columbus City Schools high school students, in addition to conducting the popular Young People’s Concerts and the Symphony’s Concerts in Schools program. He was nominated by Dan Good.

Mark Corna is the retired CEO of Corna Kokosing Construction Company. He’s currently in his eighth year on the board of trustees at Columbus College of Art & Design (CCAD). He has served on the boards of numerous arts-related organizations, including ProMusica Chamber Orchestra, Greater Columbus Arts Council, Cristo Rey High School and the King Arts Complex. He was nominated by Columbus College of Art & Design.

EMERGING ARTS LEADERS — Marshall Shorts and Corey Favor
Marshall Shorts and Corey Favor are the creators of Creative Control Fest (CCF), now in its sixth year. Since 2011, CCF has brought together speakers, artists, musicians and storytellers to spur important conversations about race, diversity and inclusion in art and design. Shorts owns the Soulo Theory Creative studio and Favor is a senior graphic designer at The Ohio State University. Together they also provide mentorship for students in College Columbus of Art & Design’s Black Student Leadership Association. They were nominated by Columbus College of Art & Design.

It is an honor to be nominated for the Community Arts Partnership Awards and the Arts Council would like to congratulate the business award nominees and all nominees in the individual categories:

Small Business
Franklin County Convention Facilities Authority
Graves Piano
Kaufman Development
Orange Barrel Media

Medium Business
Easton Town Center
The Westin Columbus 

Large Business

Arts Educator
David Brown
Shelly Casto
Demia Kandi
Thad Ricker
Jason Tostevin
Tim Veach 

Michael B. Coleman Arts Partner
Robert B. Breithaupt
Chris Hamel
Jack and Zoe Johnstone
Sheri Neale
Dr. Linda Stone, M.D.
Nancy Strause
Michael Vander Does
Patti Von Niessen

Emerging Arts Leader
Lauren Emond
Heather Lynn Kyle
Andrew Levitt
Geoffrey Martin

The Arts Council will also present its Columbus Makes Art Excellence Awards at the Oct. 26 luncheon. The award will be presented to two arts organizations that have demonstrated innovation, risk and artistic excellence in a performance, exhibition or program. See the list of 2017 Nominees.

The community is invited to join the Arts Council and hundreds of business, arts and civic leaders to celebrate this year’s nominees and winners and the work they do every day to create a thriving and vibrant creative community in Columbus. To register to attend, go here.

The Arts Council’s board of trustees selects the individual and business winners each year. The board of trustees meets just prior to the Community Arts Partnership awards luncheon to choose the Columbus Makes Art Excellence Award winners.

The 2017 Community Arts Partnership Awards are presented by PNC. Sponsors include L Brands Foundation; American Electric Power; Meuse Family Foundation; Nationwide; The Ohio State University; Easton Town Center; Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease; Cardinal Health; Crabbe, Brown & James LLP; Ice Miller LLP and Robert Weiler Company. Media sponsors include CityScene Magazine and WOSU Public Media. Tickets to attend are available online at

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, the Arts Council funds exemplary artists and arts organizations and provides programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. The Arts Council thanks the city of Columbus and the Ohio Arts Council for their continued support.

# # #

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492