Skip to main content

Greater Columbus Arts Council Awards BOOST and March and April Artists in the Community Grants

in Press Releases May 3, 2018 2 min read

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Twelve grants totaling $59,271 were approved by the Greater Columbus Arts Council for 2018 BOOST grants. Additionally, the Board approved 72 Artists in the Community grants for March and April totaling $50,264.

BOOST is a capacity-building program supporting the governance, leadership, technology and professional development needs of non-profit arts and culture organizations. The Arts Council awarded $59,271 in BOOST grants to the following organizations and projects:

Organization Award
Actors’ Theatre of Columbus $7,000
Cartoon Crossroads Columbus $3,795
Columbus Songwriters Association $4,253
Gateway Film Foundation $4,740
Jefferson Academy of Music $7,000
Maroon Arts Group $5,244
Midwest Craft Con $2,000
Opera Columbus $2,000
ProMusica Chamber Orchestra $6,740
ROY G BIV Gallery for Emerging Artists, Inc. $6,000
Thurber House $6,500
Wild Goose Creative, Incorporated $3,999

The BOOST program is closed for 2018. 

Support for artists is provided through Resource grants and Aminah Brenda Lynn Robinson Professional Development & Research grants. These grant programs give artists in the community the opportunity to enhance their skills and create new art that helps drive the vibrancy of the arts in Columbus and Franklin County.

Applications are accepted monthly and are funded on a first-come, first-served basis, until program funds are exhausted. All programs are open and accepting applications for the May 7 deadline.

Resource Grant


Artist Name Award Amount
Eva Ball $500
Peter Beals $500
Hakim Callwood $500
Harold Chichester $500
Gabriel Day $500
Corey Dickerson $500
Jason Eckley $500
Elizabeth Fisher $500
Dana Grubbe $500
Jason Hazel $500
Jake Holler $500
Boryana Ina $444
Janette Jones-Ball $496
Emma Levesque-Schaefer $464
Todd Loe $500
Heidi Madsen $500
Terri Maloney-Houston $500
James Mcdevitt-Stredney $500
Adrian Melson $500
Vicki Murphy $495
Doug Norman $500
Fariha Tayyab $500
Christopher Tennant $472
Lawrence Tuber $500
Aina Turiaga $497
Maria Wheeler $500
Betsey Williamson $500


Artist Name Award Amount
Christine Abbott $500
Aaron Bishara $500
Jeffrey Caldwell $477
Nicole Carter $493
Mah Leah Cochran $412
Jacci Delaney $500
Stefan Doke $500
Angela Finney $500
Whitney Goller $500
Kara Gut $500
Sarah Hahn $500
Renee Jefferson $500
Denise Lancaster $500
Mathew Marrash $500
Elizabeth Martin $500
Austin Mcclellan $500
Kate Menke $500
Ardine Nelson $500
Tona Pearson $490
Michael Polk $250
Peter John Ross $454
Yani Sheng $500
Nathaniel Underwood $454

Aminah Brenda Lynn Robinson Professional Development & Research Grant 


Artist Name Award Amount
Dana Grubbe $1,250
Sarah Hixon-Reed $1,250
Lisa Horkin $1,250
Terri Maloney-Houston $1,240
Fredrik Marsh $1,250
Vicki Murphy $1,250
Chloe Napoletano $917
Ardine Nelson $1,250
Melinda Rosenberg $1,250
Judith Rush $1,200
Lisa Shepherd $1,250
Fariha Tayyab $1,073
Hans Utter $1,200


Artist Name Award Amount
James Brittan $1,220
Michael Carroll $966
Jane D’Angelo $1,250
Jacci Delaney $1,250
Bethany Dickens $1,250
Gunyoung Kim $1,000
Mark Lunn, Jr. $1,250
Michael Vincent Nobel $800
Mary Ward $1,250

For more information about individual artist funding and programs including guidelines and upcoming deadlines, visit or contact McKenzi Swinehart, Senior Grants & Services Coordinator,

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, the Arts Council funds exemplary artists and arts organizations and provides programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. The Arts Council is supported by the city of Columbus, the Ohio Arts Council, and individuals and businesses throughout the community.


CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492