Skip to main content

Greater Columbus Arts Council Board of Trustees Welcomes Five New Members

in Press Releases January 12, 2021 2 min read

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Greater Columbus Arts Council (Arts Council) Board of Trustees welcomed five new members, approving two people for open positions created by the departure of two members and three additional appointments from the Franklin County Commissioners.

The incoming class of board members includes Cheryl Brooks Sullivan, Jessica Burton, Lea Goldsmith, Jim Negron and Jayme Staley.

“We’re excited to welcome our new board members and their years of expertise,” said Tom Katzenmeyer, president and CEO of the Arts Council. “They bring with them a wealth of experience in arts advocacy, nonprofit work, civic engagement and local business, and we know their leadership will continue shaping the Arts Council in the years ahead.”

Cheryl Brooks Sullivan has served as Franklin County treasurer since 2016, the first African-American citizen to be elected as a county treasurer in Ohio. She is involved with numerous organizations, including the Franklin County Land Bank, Homeport Ohio and the National Coalition of 100 Black Women.

Jessica Burton is development manager at Orange Barrel Media and an avid supporter and advocate of the arts. Burton participates in several volunteer projects and has established leadership roles within institutions such as the Wexner Center for the Arts and on the board of trustees of Opera Columbus.

Lea Goldsmith is a Columbus artist and owner of Paw Paints Artwork since 2015. She previously served as director of Art Outside the Lines Community Art Studio for adults with disabilities and provided art therapy for National Church Residences. Goldsmith’s murals can be seen on private residences and companies throughout the city.

Jim Negron is president of Corna Kokosing Construction Company, where he’s worked for the past 28 years. He has served as a board member for groups such as the Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio, Jazz Arts Group, Catholic Social Services and Columbus Urban League.

Jayme Staley is executive director of Greater Columbus Sister Cities International. Prior to joining the organization, she served as vice president for public affairs of Triumph Communications and as executive director for the Columbus and Central Ohio Children’s Chorus Foundation.

The new trustees began serving on Jan. 1. Arts Council board members initially make a one-year commitment, with an option to serve up to seven years.

Burton and Sullivan fill seats vacated by outgoing members Kevin Tyler and Drew McCartt, while Goldsmith, Negron and Staley were appointed to the Arts Council board by the Franklin County Commissioners.

Mission of the Greater Columbus Arts Council: To support and advance the arts and cultural fabric of Columbus.

The Greater Columbus Arts Council receives major financial support from the City of Columbus, Franklin County Commissioners and the Ohio Arts Council.

For translations of this release and other pages, please see the dropdown menu at the top right corner of

# # #

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492