Skip to main content

The Greater Columbus Arts Council and Columbus Film Council Announce 2013 Media Arts Fellowship Awards

in Press Releases November 21, 2013 4 min read

Columbus, Ohio – The Greater Columbus Arts Council (GCAC) and the Columbus Film Council (CFC) are pleased to announce the recipients 2013 Media Arts Fellowship Awards. The recipients were officially announced November 16 during an evening presentation of Movies+Mead, Tokyo Waka. The event was presented by the Columbus International Film + Video Festival and Brothers Drake Meadery and took place at the Canzani Center on the Columbus College of Art & Design campus.

The following 2013 Media Arts Fellowship recipients were chosen from 23 applicants: Alexis McCrimmon ($3,500), Adam Caudill ($1,500) and Mike Olenick ($1,500). Awards were based on the artistic merit of the work submitted.

The 2013 Media Arts Fellowship recipient bios:


Alexis McCrimmon is a multimedia artist, filmmaker, and independent media professional from the Midwest. She received her MFA in Film & Media Arts from TempleUniversity in Philadelphia, PA and her BA from AntiochCollege in Yellow Springs, OH. Her time-based work ranges in mode, incorporating impressionistic documentary, hybrid- narrative strategies, and elements of collage cinema. Thematically, her work aims to explore issues of commodity attachment, phenomenological transformation, as well as interrogate the aesthetic marriage between commercial and fine arts histories. She currently resides in Columbus.


A Cincinnati native, Adam pursued his passion for storytelling and filmmaking at OhioUniversity with a focus on writing, directing, editing and visual effects. With a reputation for ambitious productions that push themselves beyond expectations, he won a Provost Undergraduate Research Grant in 2006 to produce and direct his short “Angel of Mercy.” Adam won the Roger E. Ailes award in 2007 and the Video Sequence award in 2008 – given to one outstanding senior each year. Adam also edited the feature documentary “Breaking News” with appearances from Walter Cronkite, Terry Anderson and Diane Rehm. Adam partnered with frequent colleague

Wrion Bowling to co-write/direct and produce their feature film debut, “SHELTER” which was completed in 2012. “SHELTER” won ‘Best Narrative Feature’ in the 2012 Williamsburg Independent Film Festival, ‘The Chris’ award in the 2012 Columbus International Film & Video Fest and ‘Best Director’ in the 2013 Eerie Horror Fest.


Mike Olenick lives and works in Columbus. He has shown his work in the World Wide Video Festival, VIPER Basel, New York Underground Film Festival, Brooklyn Underground Film Festival, EXiS, Oberhausen Film Festival, International Short Film Festival Hamburg, Seattle International Film Festival, Chicago Underground Film Festival and on Dutch television. He has won awards at the Ann Arbor Film Festival, Cinematexas and he has been the recipient of an Ohio Arts Council Individual Artist Fellowship. For more than 10 years he has been an editor in the Film/Video Studio Program at the WexnerCenter for the Arts, where he has worked on projects for Jennifer Reeder, Guy Maddin, Michael Robinson and Lucy Raven. He received his BFA in Media Studies from the Columbus College of Art and Design and his MFA in Photography from the Cranbrook Academy of Art.

GCAC’s Arts Fellowships program, established in 1986, recognizes outstanding artists in FranklinCounty. Since the inception of the program, more than 200 artists have received awards in a variety of disciplines, including visual arts, crafts, film and video, creative writing, music composition and choreography/movement arts. GCAC’s program is one of the few local fellowship programs in the country.

GCAC would also like to congratulate the finalists for the 2013 Media Artist Fellowship awards:

Phil Garrett, Pamela Theodotou, Janet Parrott, Mike Newman, and Jordan Schmelzer.

The awards, recommended in an anonymous review process by panelists, assist recipients in any manner they choose to support the creation of new works and/or the advancement of their careers. All 2013 recipients and finalists are invited to apply for GCAC’s Dresden Artist Exchange Program.  Artists who have participated previously in any GCAC exchange program are not eligible to apply.

Members of the 2013 Media Arts Fellowship panel who reviewed all applications and recommended the finalists and recipients were Anne Bohlen, Yellow Springs-based independent filmmaker; Todd Kwait Cleveland-based independent filmmaker and musician; and Laura Paglin, a Cleveland-based independent filmmaker. Emmy Award nominee and film editor John Haptas and Academy Award nominee and filmmaker Kristine Samuelson, selected the award levels for the recipients.

For more information contact Ruby Harper, Grants & Services Director at

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, we fund exemplary artists and arts organizations and provide programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. GCAC thanks the City of Columbus, Franklin County, the Ohio Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts for their continued support.

About the Columbus Film Council: The Columbus Film Council was founded in 1950, by the late Dr. Edgar Dale, Professor Emeritus of The Ohio State University and other professionals interested in promoting the use of 16mm motion pictures. Two years later, the Columbus Film Festival was born. Since its inception, the object of the Film Council has been to encourage and promote the use of 16mm motion pictures and, subsequently, media in all forms of education and communication, not only in the local community but throughout the world. During these many years of continuous operation, the Festival has honored thousands of film and video producers. The Festival has grown in scope, becoming international in 1972, in the late 80’s adding video, and in 1997 adding the CD ROM format. In 2004 the Festival added DVDs to its list of accepted formats.

# # #

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492