Skip to main content

The Greater Columbus Arts Council and the Columbus Film Council Announce 2013 Media Arts Fellowship Finalists

in Press Releases October 24, 2013 2 min read

Columbus, Ohio – The Greater Columbus Arts Council (GCAC) and the Columbus Film Council (CFC) are pleased to announce the 2013 Media Arts Fellowship Finalists.  The recipients and their award levels will be officially announced November 16 during an awards ceremony hosted by the Columbus International Film + Video Festival at the CanzaniCenter on the ColumbusCollege of Art & Design campus. Visiting Filmmakers, John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson, will make the final Fellowship decisions. Three awards are available; one $3,500 and two $1,500.

The following 2013 Media Arts Fellowship finalists were chosen from 23 applicants. Selections were based on the artistic merit of the work submitted.

The 2013 Media Arts Fellowship finalists are: Adam Caudill, Phil Garrett, Alexis McCrimmon, Mike Newman, Mike Olenick, Janet Parrott, Jordan Schmelzer and Pamela Theodotou.

GCAC’s Arts Fellowships program, established in 1986, recognizes outstanding FranklinCounty artists. Since the inception of the program, more than 160 artists have received awards in a variety of disciplines, including visual arts, crafts, film and video, creative writing, music composition and choreography/movement arts. GCAC’s program is one of the few local fellowship programs in the country.

The awards, recommended in an anonymous review process by panelists, assist recipients in any manner they choose to support the creation of new works and/or the advancement of their careers. All 2013 recipients and finalists will be invited to apply for GCAC’s Artist Exchange.  Artists who have participated previously in any GCAC exchange program are not eligible to apply again to the Artist Exchange program.

Members of the 2013 Media Arts Fellowship panel who reviewed all applications and recommended the finalists and recipients were Todd Kwait, a business executive, a lawyer, a documentary filmmaker and a record producer with a distinguished record of success; Anne Bohlen, an Emeritus Faculty of Antioch College where she was Professor of Communication and Media Arts for 14 years; and Laura Paglin, producer and director of films since she was a teenager.

For more information contact Ruby Harper, Grants & Services director at

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, we fund exemplary artists and arts organizations and provide programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. GCAC thanks the City of Columbus, FranklinCounty, the Ohio Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts for their continued support.

About the Columbus Film Council: The Columbus Film Council was founded in 1950, by the late Dr. Edgar Dale, Professor Emeritus of The Ohio State University and other professionals interested in promoting the use of 16mm motion pictures. Two years later, the Columbus Film Festival was born. Since its inception, the object of the Film Council has been to encourage and promote the use of 16mm motion pictures and, subsequently, media in all forms of education and communication, not only in the local community but throughout the world. During these many years of continuous operation, the Festival has honored thousands of film and video producers. The Festival has grown in scope, becoming international in 1972, in the late 80’s adding video, and in 1997 adding the CD ROM format. In 2004 the Festival added DVDs to its list of accepted formats.


# # #

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492